Tags

, , , , ,

Once I started writing articles on the Ukrainian Crisis, I was sent the following news footage from Channel 112.UA, a Ukrainian News Channel. Pay close attention to :13 in the video.

This video was originally uploaded on February 19, 2014 and purportedly was filmed on February 18, 2014.

I am no firearms expert, however, after asking on Reddit, I was able to find out that the rifle in question had an AR-15 receiver.  However, the rest of the weapon could have been customized, as I was told, the AR-15 is highly customizable.  It can even be modified to take a 762×39 round, which is the standard eastern block military issue ammunition.

The above image was provided by Kentucky Gun Company.

So this begs two immediate questions:

Why would a member of the Ukrainian Parliament have such a weapon equipped with a suppressor?

Why did the protesters let him leave with it?

